
Johor Bahru's BEST Seaview Villa: 11-16 Guests, 4BR, Stunning Tub!
Johor Bahru's BEST Seaview Villa: 11-16 Guests, 4BR, Stunning Tub! - A Review (and a Plea to Book!)
Okay, buckle up buttercups, because I'm about to lay down the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth about this "BEST Seaview Villa" in Johor Bahru. And honestly? It’s a rollercoaster. There were moments I wanted to run screaming into the sea, and moments I never, EVER wanted to leave. Let's get into it… because, let's be honest, you're here to decide if it's worth the splurge.
First Impressions (and the Accessibility Angle): A bit of a mixed bag
Finding the place wasn't as smooth as silk. Getting there from the airport (airport transfer offered, BTW, which is a SAVER) felt like a mini treasure hunt. The road to the villa is…well, let’s just say it’s not exactly a smooth ride. This is important folks, and I'm going to be honest: accessibility here is not amazing. I saw an elevator, which is good, but navigating the grounds, especially with any mobility issues, could be quite the challenge. The villa itself is spacious, thankfully, but getting around the common areas? Think uneven paths and a few steps here and there. It's not a dealbreaker, but be prepared.
The Villa Itself: Sea Views, Tub Dreams (and a Few Minor Hiccups)
Okay, the real star of the show: the villa. It’s massive. Like, “where’s the other half of my group?” massive. There were 12 of us, and we still felt like we had room to breathe. Four bedrooms, all with their own bathrooms. The bedrooms were comfy enough, with all the usual suspects: air conditioning (THANK GOD), blackout curtains (essential for battling the sunrise), and the all-important free Wi-Fi (available in all rooms!). Yes, I checked. It worked, even when streaming a questionable amount of K-dramas at 3 AM. Each room also has internet access (LAN) which I love for a better connection, and internet services are available as well.
But let's talk about the stunning tub. Oh. My. Goddess. Picture this: you, a glass of something bubbly (brought your own, because… well, more on that later), the vast expanse of the sea stretching before you, washing away all the worries of the world. That's the vibe. Seriously, the tub alone almost makes the whole experience worth it.
Now, the hiccups. The cleaning… wasn't flawless. Found a stray hair here or there. (And yes, I'm a little OCD about cleanliness.) The rooms sanitized between stays is a plus, but I am going to be honest, I cleaned the kitchen (sanitized kitchen and tableware items stated to be provided), before I even dared to touch it. shuffles awkwardly.
Food, Glorious Food (and the "Where's the 24-Hour Room Service?" Drama)
Alright, let's talk sustenance. The villa has a few options. There is supposed to be 24-hour room service which seems to be a lie, I tried calling… it was a mess. I think they have a restaurant. I went to the restaurant, the Asian cuisine in restaurant was really solid and the Asian breakfast was a win. There are also alternative meal arrangements, which is great for dietary needs. The breakfast [buffet] was… well, it's a buffet, you know? Hit or miss. The poolside bar was the place to be, especially during happy hour. The coffee shop was perfect to grab a cup before leaving for the beach.
There isn't any breakfast in room which is a bummer. Speaking of the bottle of water, I forgot to mention that there is always a bottle of water in each room.
Things to Do (and Why You'll Want to Stay Put)
This place is designed for relaxing. Seriously. The minute you arrive, you'll want to ditch your plans and just stare at the sea. The pool with view is gorgeous, and the swimming pool [outdoor] is pretty damn inviting. The Spa/sauna is a great way to unwind. After several cocktails, you're going to want to experience the sauna and the spa. There isn't any body scrub or body wrap, which is sad because you will be really tempted to visit the gym/fitness. I ended up skipping that one and heading back to the amazing pool with view.
Finding things to do beyond the villa itself… well, that's where things get tricky. You're a car ride away from most attractions, which isn't ideal. But honestly? We spent most of our time at the villa. We had a great time.
Cleanliness, Safety, AND the "Covid-19 Protocols" Reality Check
Alright, gotta be honest. Cleanliness is mostly up to par, so you can feel comfortable with the Anti-viral cleaning products they use. I appreciate the effort. There is daily disinfection in common areas, and I saw them doing it. There's even hand sanitizer stations everywhere. They say there's Safe dining setup, and I felt reasonably safe eating.
They boast about things like physical distancing of at least 1 meter, but let's be real. That's… challenging. They are doing the best they can but a crowd of 12 people is bound to create a bubble. The staff are Staff trained in safety protocol, which is a plus.
There isn't any room sanitization opt-out available that I could see, they rooms sanitized between stays, and I am all for this! The doctor/nurse on call is a nice touch for emergencies, along with the first aid kit.
The Verdict: Worth the Hype (With Caveats!)
Look, are there imperfections? Absolutely. Is it the most accessible place in the world? Nope. Is it perfect? FAR from it. There is no babysitting service so if you are going with kids, you will need to make sure to handle this.
But… the sheer size of the villa, the breathtaking view (and that damn tub!), the fun vibes that came with the Happy hour made it a truly memorable experience. It is a GREAT place to host a celebration and the perfect option for large groups.
Here's the thing: it's about what you're looking for. If you're after a chilled-out getaway with your friends or family, a place to escape the chaos and reconnect, or simply a vacation that feels like you're living in a magazine spread (the tub!), then YES. Book it. Be prepared to embrace the imperfections and let the good times roll.
And now, for the sales pitch that's actually me writing this…
Stop scrolling! Don't waste another minute searching. This villa is more than just a place to sleep; it's an experience. Imagine waking up to the sound of the waves, sipping your coffee on the terrace (and that complimentary tea in the room), then spending your days lounging by the pool (that swimming pool [outdoor]), and your evenings soaking in that legendary tub.
Here's the deal: We had an absolute blast. Book it, pack your bags, and get ready for a vacation you won't forget. Just remember to bring your own snacks (and maybe some extra cleaning wipes!).
Book Now. You Deserve It!
Escape to Siems: Germany's Hidden Modern Retreat in Grube
Okay, buckle up buttercups! This isn't your perfectly polished, Instagram-filtered travel itinerary. This is the raw, unfiltered, possibly slightly chaotic play-by-play of a family trip (with a whole lotta people, naturally) to that swanky Bay Laurel Seaview Elegance in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. Prepare for the real deal.
The Epic Johor Bahru Extravaganza: A Family Affair (with probable meltdowns)
Day 1: Arrival, Anticipation, and the Great Luggage Debacle (aka "The Terror of the Taxi Rank")
Morning (8:00 AM - 10:00 AM): The pre-trip frenzy. Pack, unpack, repack, frantically search for passports (always). My sister, bless her heart, is already "stressed-out" at the thought of managing 14 people. "It's like herding cats," she muttered while I'm still trying to jam a ridiculous amount of "just in case" outfits into my already bursting bag.
Lunch (10:00 AM - 12:00 PM): The airport! The flight was miraculously on time. But then came the taxi queue. Oh, the taxi queue. Trying to wrangle four overstuffed taxis (because of course we didn't pre-book a van – brilliant, me!) was an experience. The driver in the first taxi looked like he just woke up from a coma. The kids were squabbling over window seats. My nephew spilled juice. The whole thing was… delightful.
Afternoon (12:00 PM - 2:00 PM): CHECK-IN! We made it. The Bay Laurel Seaview Elegance. The photos online lied. It's WAY bigger. The view? Stunning. The kitchen is bigger than my apartment back home. We assigned rooms. It was like musical chairs, but with more shouting and passive-aggressive room swaps. I snagged the master bedroom with the bathtub – score! (And after the day’s lunacy, I really needed that bathtub, let me tell you).
Late Afternoon (2:00 PM - 4:00 PM): The Great Luggage Search. This is where things got messy. One suitcase was lost in the taxi shuffle. Aunt Susan insists it has her favorite slippers (crisis!). We did a headcount of the kids again (always a good idea). The pool beckoned, but first, the luggage!
Evening (4:00 PM - 10:00 PM): Pool time! The kids went wild in the pool. Screaming, splashing, and generally having a blast. My sister was looking at us like she's about to commit a crime. I had a beer. We ordered in some local food (roti canai, of course). It was delicious. The lost luggage situation remained unresolved. Dinner got late, but the view from the balcony was so worth it. Everyone was tired, but eventually, the kids fell asleep from exhaustion.
Day 2: Legoland, Line-Ups, and the Ball-Pit of Despair.
Morning (8:00 AM - 10:00 AM): Breakfast chaos. Trying to feed 14 people is a military operation. Cereal, toast, spilled orange juice, and someone (I suspect little Timmy) ate a whole tub of Nutella.
Morning (10:00 AM - 1:00 PM): Legoland! The main event. The sheer scale of the place is impressive, especially when you're surrounded by screaming children and the lingering aroma of churros. The lineups? Oh, the line ups! My nephew declared the first one “the worst day of his life.” The rides were fun, but the whole experience was utterly exhausting. I also nearly lost my flip flop on the pirate ship ride.
Afternoon (1:00 PM - 3:00 PM): Lunch at Legoland. Overpriced, but the kids were ravenous. I saw a meltdown because they ran out of chicken nuggets. I had a very expensive salad and contemplated life choices. Contemplated leaving the kids at Legoland, maybe I should have done that.
Afternoon (3:00 PM - 5:00 PM): More Legoland. We braved the ball pit (which, let's be honest, is a breeding ground for germs). My niece got separated from the group for a heart-stopping 5 minutes. I had a mini panic attack. Everyone was sweaty, sticky, and starting to turn into the walking dead.
Evening (5:00 PM - 10:00 PM): Back at the villa. Pizza delivery! We ordered way too much, as always. More pool time for the kids (they have unlimited energy). I had my book and finally managed to read more than two lines without being interrupted. The lost luggage remains a mystery! At this point, I am really beginning to suspect the taxi driver.
Day 3: Shopping, Spices, and The Grand Finale (aka "The Great Escape")
Morning (9:00 AM - 12:00 PM): Shopping! Johor Premium Outlets, apparently. I don't do shopping. I was dragged along, mostly to keep an eye on the kids. It was hot, crowded, and I'm pretty sure I saw a few people actually weeping over discount handbags. I hid in a cafe and drank iced coffee.
Lunch (12:00 PM - 1:00 PM): Lunch. Another fast food meal that no one really wanted. The kids started fighting over the last French fry.
Afternoon (1:00 PM - 4:00 PM): Spice Market. I insisted we visit a local spice market. The smells were incredible. I bought a ridiculous amount of turmeric (I plan to become the world's foremost turmeric enthusiast). Everyone else wasn't that impressed. They wanted the pool and the air conditioning.
Late Afternoon (4:00 PM - 5:00 PM): The Big Soak! I finally got to take a long bath in that amazing master bathroom tub with bubbles and a glass of wine. Bliss. Pure. Bliss.
Evening (5:00 PM - 10:00 PM): Farewell Dinner. We ordered a feast from a local restaurant, and the food was amazing. We had some laughs and reminisced about the trip. The kids were much better behaved after a couple of days. The lost luggage? Still missing! But at least it didn't take away from having a great trip. One member of our group even said it was the best trip he ever had.
Day 4: Departure and Reflections (aka "The Calm After the Chaos")
Morning (8:00 AM - 10:00 AM): Packing again! (shudders). The chaos of repacking and making sure we didn't leave anyone or anything behind.
Morning (10:00 AM - 12:00 PM): Taxi, airport, another flight or two. The ride to the airport this time was calmer, a miracle. The kids were exhausted from their trip, or maybe they really were finally getting used to our company.
Afternoon (12:00 PM - …): Home. Post-trip exhaustion, I did not unpack for a week. I am contemplating the merits of solo travel, or maybe just a staycation. But I wouldn't trade the memories and the mayhem for anything.
Final Thought: Would I do it again? Absolutely. Maybe with a slightly smaller group next time. And maybe, just maybe, book a private driver. And, one day, I plan to return to that bathtub!

Alright, Listen Up! Johor Bahru's Seaview Villa – The REALLY Real FAQs (My Brain Dump Edition)
Okay, so... is this place REALLY as good as it looks in the photos? Because let’s be honest, Instagram is a LIE.
Ugh, I get it. Trust me, I'm the same. I've booked places that looked like Shangri-La and turned out to be... well, let's just say I wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy. BUT, get this: the Johor Bahru Seaview Villa? It's *mostly* true to its word. The photos are actually pretty accurate, which is shocking. The view? Yep, it's as breathtaking as it looks. You know, the kind that stops you dead in your tracks, even if you have a toddler clinging to your leg screaming for more chicken nuggets. I swear, I spent a solid hour on the balcony just…staring. Pure escape. There's a slight, *slight* angle where the neighbor’s roof throws a shadow, but honestly? After a couple of beers, who cares?
**Anecdote:** We arrived late, after a truly epic traffic jam. Kids screaming, my partner practically levitating with stress. We dragged our luggage in, utterly defeated. And then we walked into that living room. The view just… *poof*. Stress gone! Instant chill. It was the kind of moment you almost tear up at. Almost.
**Impression:** Mostly great, but don't go expecting pristine perfection. It's a lived-in, loved-in place, not a soulless hotel.
11-16 Guests? Seriously? Does it FEEL crowded? I'm imagining a mosh pit, not a relaxing vacation.
Alright, this is where things get interesting. Yes, it *can* feel crowded, especially if you have a bunch of rambunctious teenagers and a grandparent who's still snoring at 2 PM. But... the space is actually pretty well-designed. The bedrooms are spaced out, which helps. Plus, there's a massive living room, a huge balcony, and a *very* tempting infinity pool. So, you can spread out. The key is to establish some "zones" early on. Someone on the balcony for peace, someone in the living room watching the telly (more on this later), and the pool for the inevitable splashing and shrieking.
**Quirky Observation:** The pool is strategically placed. I suspect it's designed to herd the children towards a specific, less likely to erode, section of the garden. It works, by the way.
**Pro Tip:** If your group is approaching the full 16, consider renting an extra portable toilet. Trust me. You'll thank me later. And bring earplugs. Always.
Let's talk about the tub. The STUNNING tub. Is it *actually* as dreamy as the pictures imply?
OH. MY. GOD. The tub. Okay, deep breaths. It’s… it’s almost worth the entire trip. The pictures are… well, they’re not a lie. It’s a big, beautiful, ridiculously luxurious tub. I swear, I spent a *ridiculous* amount of time in that thing. Bubbles, bath bombs, the works. The view from the tub? Unbelievable. You could soak in there for hours. Until your skin starts to prune, anyway.
**Emotional Reaction:** Pure, unadulterated bliss. I felt like a queen. A very wrinkly queen, but a queen nonetheless.
**Messy Rambles:** Okay, the only downside (and it's a *minor* one, truly) is that it takes a while to fill. Plan accordingly! And, maybe, maybe don't drop your phone in it like I almost did. That would have been a disaster.
What's the deal with the kitchen? Can we actually cook decent food there?
The kitchen is decently equipped. Not a professional chef's paradise, but perfectly functional. You've got the essentials: the hob, the oven, the fridge (and a freezer, thank goodness!). They even have a rice cooker (essential for many Malaysian meals). There's enough counter space to chop, slice, and generally flail around with ingredients if you're me. They usually leave a Welcome Kit. Expect bottled water, some snacks. Perfect.
**Opinionated Language:** Okay, I have to be honest. The knives were a *bit* dull. Bring your own sharpener, or embrace the struggle. And maybe a good pair of oven mitts. Safety first!
**Natural Pacing:** Did we cook a gourmet meal? Nah. Did we make pancakes, pasta, and a dodgy attempt at a curry? Absolutely. It worked! And honestly, eating outside, overlooking that view? Perfection.
Okay, what about things to do? Is this just a "sit by the pool all day" kind of place, or are there options?
Honestly? You COULD spend the whole time by the pool and be perfectly happy. In fact, I highly recommend at least a day of pure lounging. BUT, there are options. You're pretty close to Johor Bahru City, which has shopping malls, restaurants, and all the usual city stuff. There's also the beach! (which, be warned, isn't the prettiest. The view from the villa makes up for it.)
**Doubling Down:** We went to Legoland. It's... Legoland. If you have kids, you HAVE to go. It’s exhausting. But the kids loved it. So, win? Maybe?
**Imperfection:** We also planned to go to a local seafood restaurant that was highly recommended. We got lost, argued (shocking!), and ended up eating pizza. Worth it? Ehh... but you can't win them all.
Is it kid-friendly? Because "kid-friendly" can mean anything from "a few plastic toys" to "a death trap."
It's *generally* kid-friendly. The pool has a shallow end. The bedrooms are spacious enough for a travel cot. There's a bit of a garden, which is great for running around and screaming. BUT… and it’s a big “BUT”… keep an eye on the little ones. The balcony railings are pretty open (though standard safe height). Supervise them at all times. The pool is right there – you *cannot* take your eyes off them. And the stairs could be tricky for toddlers. The house in general is geared towards family, but it's not a *completely* child-proof environment.
**Emotional Reaction:** I nearly had a heart attack about three times the first day, watching my two-year-old try to climb the window. So, yeah. Be vigilant.

